Board of Trustees

The library is governed by a Board of Library Trustees composed of seven members. A Board member is appointed to a five-year term and may serve any number of terms but may serve no more than two consecutive terms. Officers are elected each year for one-year term. The powers and duties of the Board are outlined in §§ 23-401, et seq. of the Education Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.


    • Caroll Visintainer, EdD, President 
    • Melissa J. Leonard, Vice President
    • Kaleb Hignutt, Treasurer
    • Sarah Dahl, Secretary
    • Stephen C. Fleegle
    • James B. Johnson
    • Tomas Davila

Executive Director: Deborah A. Bennett


Seven citizens of Caroline County. Appointments are made from nominees provided to County Commissioners of Caroline County by the membership of the Board of Library Trustees.

Term of Office:

Five years, January 1 through December 31. Officer’s appointments commence July 1 and terminate on June 30. Board members may not serve more than 2 consecutive terms.


The Board of Library Trustees for Caroline County Public Library has a meeting scheduled on August 10, 2022 at 5:30pm

Click here to download the August 10th meeting agenda.

The 2022 scheduled meetings of the Board of Library Trustees are as follows:

  • January 26, 2022 (Agenda posted January 20, 2022)
  • April 13, 2022 (Agenda posted April 8, 2022)
  • June 8, 2022 (Agenda posted June 3, 2022)
  • August 10, 2022 (Agenda posted August 4, 2022)
  • October 12, 2022

Unless in closed session all meetings are open to the public. 

Minutes from Previous Broad of Trustee Meetings:




Minutes from prior years are available for public review upon request.